Nine candidates for one seat

 Thu 11 Jan 2018

KABUL (SW): The selection committee of Independent Election Commission (IEC) eventually arranged the test for nine candidates for the position of election commission chair. The following names have been on the list of eligible candidates:

Abdul Qadir Zazi - secretary of the House of Representatives (Wolesi Jirga), Noor Mohammad Noor - former spokesperson for the IEC, Ghulam Shah Adel Alizayee, Sayed Hafizullah Hashimi – Secretary General of Senate (Mishrano Jirga), Popal Habibi, Ahmad Shah Zamani – Director of Finance and Administration of Ministry of Defense, Awal-ul Rahman Roodwal – director of IEC Kabul, Mohammad Ismail Suhak – Assistant Police Chief of Kabul, and Abdul Hassib Latifi.

The selection committee should nominate three of these people to the Presidential Palace. According to the Article 16 of the Electoral Law, vacant position in the IEC should be filled with a person from the same ethnic group and same gender of the preceding employee.